Early Christmas Present

Well this week was pretty crazy. Tuesday we had two service projects, which was awesome! We helped our recent convert, Evita, sew ang for her new house. Then we went and planted some tapioca with Reeniyan (try to say that name!) We got fed both times and we were so full! It was really fun. Then they packed a little bit. We went out taught, mostly just said goodbye. Taking SIster Saimon and Sister Bradford to the airport was pretty heartbreaking. I may or may not have cried. The Zone Leaders (Elder Li-Khau and Golightly… I call them the twin towers) insisted on coming to the airport because I was going to be alone for like 30 mins waiting for Sister Kaato at the airport.

Sister Kaato coming to Yap was one of the biggest miracles of my mission. She went to the airport to get on the plane but some little kid had written over the writing on her passport and visa! And she also doesn’t have any alternate ID. So they called President Zarbock and he got to the airport in 10 minutes. Talked to the people and last minute said she could come through. So President Zarbock just yelled, “RUN SISTER KAATO!! Have fun on Yap!” And she almost didn’t make it here. I would have been alone!! She has to get a new passport and visa now. Anyways, it was a miracle.
Sister Kaato is so sweet! She is my early Christmas present because she is from Christmas Island, Kiribati! We have had a lot of fun together so far! We also got to teach some of the other SIsters outer island investigators and I used every outer island work I knew. It was pretty funny! I need to work on my outer island, it is very poor.
Thursday we had Zone Meeting and it went well. It is was really short.
Saturday there was a branch clean-up. From the picture you can tell I was working really hard! But it was fun, we flooded the chapel to clean it, scrubbed and then pushed it all out the door and mopped. Then also went outside and clean. Then one of the girls in our branch is leaving so we went to her family goodbye party and it was fun. They asked me to pray and I was so nervous, but I think everyone understood my Yapese!
Saturday night we picked up the other sisters from the airport. So now we have Sister Jones on island form Missouri. I haven’t had a lot of time to get to know her but she is really cool. And a good cook! Blessings.
Zackery was supposed to get baptized this Saturday but didn’t make it to church. I was fuming. We went to his house and he felt so bad! His sister left Saturday night and he didn’t get home until around 3am. So he slept in. But he said he felt so bad about missing church he read the Book of Mormon all day! He read from Jacob all the way to Alma 29! That kid is awesome! He will tell us on Tuesday when he is getting baptized. A little hard to schedule with the way that the holidays fell on the calender this year.
Things are going good on Yap! I am so happy to be here!
Merry Christmas!
Don’t forget to do your In 25 Ways In 25 Days!
Love and miss you all,
Sister Stevens

Leave a Reply

